You got a friend(s) in me…

Standard

Today, when talking to a good friend from work, I realized something great about other creative minds. That something is the bouncing of ideas, the brainstorming, and the power of two minds. I knew talking through ideas with others was a great idea (and something I did often with my high school english teacher) but I never realized just how great that really was. My new story idea that I bounced off of my friend, Thomas, today evolved in so many crazy ways. I was so excited that I was actually taking notes during my shift at work (my manager would not be happy). It was very interesting to see what ideas he liked. Many ideas I had thought about scrapping, he talked me into keeping. Many ideas I thought were my best, he explained holes and weaknesses.

Apart from the information and ideas though, it was very nice to meet another mind so into creative writing. The only person I had been able to talk to like that was my english teacher in high school.

And this, I feel, would be the benefits of a writing group. If OU had a club I would surely be a part of it. However, no matter how great this place, we do not have a creative writing club. So, to resolve that problem, we are going to start one. I would love to be in a room with a bunch of creative minds just bouncing ideas and such. I am often in a room full of technical people (majoring in electrical engineering) and the people of the arts are definitely refreshing.

Now we just need a name for this group. It should be creative. Maybe something like Bards and Scribes? Any ideas?

Leave a Reply

